You are using an outdated browser. For an optimal and safe experience we advise you to update your browser. Click here for the latest versions.


Reinhilde Jacobs is dentist, Doctor in Dental Sciences (PhD University of Leuven), periodontologist (KU Leuven) and Master in Dental Radiology (University of London). She is full professor at KULeuven and visiting professor at Karolinksa Institutet, Stockholm, Sweden and Dalian Medical University, China. R. Jacobs is heading the omfs impath research group KULeuven ( and the Dentomaxillofacial Imaging center of the University Hospitals Leuven. She is Secretary General of the International Association of DentoMaxilloFacial Radiology and section editor of Clinical Oral Investigations, International Journal of Oral Implantology, European Journal of Radiology. In 2013, she received a Dr Honoris Causa at "Iuliu Hatieganu" University of Medicine and Pharmacy, Cluj-Napoca. She is (co-)author of 5 books and > 520 publications in peer-reviewed journals (h:70).
Patrik Aerts is head of the medical imaging department of OLV Aalst-Asse-Ninove.  Area of interest; radioprotection.  Member of BSR and VBS and though these mandates he is a member of the advisory body of the FANC on radioprotection initiatives and legislation.
Gert Van Gompel works as a radiation physicist at UZ Brussel.  This includes periodic quality control, organizational quality assurance (including within the KB medical exposure (FANC)), tender files, and providing additional training to nurses and doctors.  In addition, she carries out scientific research under the UZ Brussels-VUBflag, using new CT technology in combination with image processing for new clinical applications.  In that capacity she co-supervises several PhD students.  She also teaches in the faculties of Medicine & Pharmacy and Engineering Sciences for courses focused on radioprotection an medical physics.